State Recognizes Outstanding Performance at UMass

Filed in Featured, General by on July 6, 2015


Each year, the Commonwealth of Massachusetts accepts nominations for their Performance Recognition Program, which is made up of five awards, including the Citation for Outstanding Performance.  The Outstanding Performance Award nominations open in November of each year and close in February.  Nominators can submit a recommendation for either an individual or a group.  Once nominations are received, the Commonwealth has a committee review each nomination and final decisions are made by the governor.  On Monday, June 29, the University President announced that the University of Massachusetts had received 8 awards – 3 individual awards and 5 group awards.

“The Performance Recognition Program provides official acknowledgement to employees of the state who make significant meaningful contributions through innovation, dedication and a commitment to excellence.  I believe it is essential that those who set an example be acknowledged and recognized for their efforts through programs like this.  For me it is an honor to be associated with these individuals,” stated Keith Moran, Associate Chief Technology Officer of the UMass System Office and a 2015 Group Award recipient.

“As a member of the University IT Steering Committee I was very pleased to witness the many Information Technology initiatives that were completed with involvement from all campuses.  By working together, the CIOs and their staffs were able to introduce new technologies with a better value proposition than would have been realized if handled individually,” stated Joanne Yestramski, Vice Chancellor of Finance and Operations at UMass Lowell and a recipient of two of the 2015 Group Awards.

We would like to extend our congratulations to all of the University of Massachusetts Outstanding Performance recipients (listed below), who demonstrated excellence, leadership and provided significant improvements at the University.  We’d also like to thank those employees who inspired and influenced these individuals and groups.

“I’m honored to have been recognized for my work in leading the UMass BuyWays Project, but I would also like to acknowledge that this was a team effort with many individuals contributing to the success of the project,” stated Don Joubert, Director of Procurement & Administration at the UMass System and a 2015 Individual Award recipient.

Remember that your thoughts and ideas are what do and will contribute to the quality services at the University and don’t forget to keep an eye out for outstanding performances in the year to come.  Nominations will reopen in November 2015.


  • Leigh Murphy, UMass Boston
  • Satyanarayana Parayitam, UMass Dartmouth
  • Donald Joubert, UMass System Office


ePay Conversion Team

  • Lynne Ferrell, UMass System Office
  • Charlene Joyce, UMass System Office
  • Martha Pierson, UMass System Office
  • Frank Trolio, UMass System Office

UMass Net Team

  • Timothy Blondin, UMass System Office
  • David Kokoszyna, UMass System Office
  • Lee Maglione, UMass System Office
  • Peter Melican, UMass System Office
  • Christopher Misra, UMass Amherst
  • Keith Moran, UMass System Office
  • Richard Newton, UMass System Office
  • Richard Tuthill, UMass Amherst
  • Carol Walsh, UMass System Office

UMass Strategic Energy Committee

  • John Baker, UMass Medical School
  • Joseph Collins, UMass Medical School
  • Thomas Dreyer, UMass Lowell
  • Peter Duffy, UMass Dartmouth
  • Raymond Jackson, UMass Amherst
  • Juanita Holler, UMass Amherst
  • Michael LaGrassa, UMass Dartmouth
  • Darryl Mayers, UMass Boston
  • Michael McGerigle, UMass Boston
  • Paul Piraino, UMass Lowell

University Information Technology Steering Committee

  • Frances Brian, UMass System Office
  • Julie Buehler, UMass Amherst
  • Michael Cipriano, UMass Lowell
  • Michael Collins, UMass Medical School
  • Holger Dippel, UMass Dartmouth
  • Robert Jenal, UMass Medical School
  • Mohammad Karim, UMass Dartmouth
  • Winston Langley, UMass Boston
  • Apurva Mehta, UMass Boston
  • Katherine Newman, UMass Amherst
  • Robert Solis, UMass System Office
  • Christine Wilda, UMass System Office
  • Gregory Wolf, UMass Medical School
  • Zong-Guo Xia, UMass Boston
  • Joanne Yestramski, UMass Lowell

UMass Climate Action Plan Steering Committee – UMass Lowell

  • Robert Barnett
  • Edward Brennen
  • James Christopher
  • Thomas Dreyer
  • Jill Gambon
  • Mark Hines
  • Thomas Hoole
  • James Kohl
  • Richard Lemoine
  • Thomas Miliano
  • Ruari O’Mahoney
  • Steven O’Riordan
  • Paul Piraino
  • Craig Slatin
  • Juliette Rooney
  • Joanne Yestramski


Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.